Last week, Colorado legislature officially implemented a new law – Senate Bill 17-245 – requiring landlords to provide their short-term tenants at least 21 days’ notice before increasing rent rates or terminating their leases. Tenants now also must give at least 21 days’ notice before terminating their own short-term lease.
According to Colorado law, short-term leases run on a month-to-month basis or last no longer than six months. Before the new law was enacted, either party could terminate a short-term lease with just seven days’ notice, one of the fastest turnaround times in the country. Colorado State Representative Dan Pabon described reasons for the law passing in a written statement:
“In this overheated housing market, more and more people are facing rent increases and having to find short-term accommodations. This new law will relieve some of the pressure on renters when faced with these situations, and give them more time to find an alternative if needed.”
With Senate Bill 17-245 in effect, tenants and landlords should feel less pressure and more equipped to adjust to an unforeseen lease termination or rent increase.